Drawing news, Painting news and Newsnight news!

Newsnight 2015It’s been a very long time since my last post here on WordPress, about six months and during that time I’ve been continuing to work on the project for LALU at University College Hospital as well as having people pose for me at my studio for paintings and drawings. The photo above is a screengrab from Newsnight’s NHS debate just before the election which was broadcast from the Macmillan Cancer Centre where I spend my Thursday afternoons drawing people and the displays of portraits from the project were visible in the background during the programme. Here are some of the latest drawings, photo’s of the displays and a photo of me drawing at the centre taken by Sara from LALU (click any image for full size).

Joe-and-Eve-01-mid David-and-Naeema-01-mid Juan-and-Magdelena-01-mid Shobha-and-Kishor-01-mid Christine-01-mid Hafida-01-mid Teoman-01-mid Nora-02-mid Virginia-01-mid Zattam-01-mid Monika-01-mid Siggi-01-mid Eric-01-mid Momenul-01-mid Lorraine-01-mid Jennifer-01-mid Kenisha-01-mid Lorna-01-mid Patricia-01-mid Francesca-and-James 01-mid Sandra,-Nicola-and-Steve-01 Albana-01-mid Colin-and-Barbara-01-mid Kay-C-02-mid Samira-and-Habiba-01-mid Luz-01-mid Amanda-01-mid IMG_5172 IMG_5430 IMG_5426 IMG_5424 IMG_5433

I’ve also got a couple of new paintings to publish here, the first is a quick oil sketch of Idunn. Painted in one sitting, it’s a little different in style to my normal portraits over several posing sessions, here’s the image:

Idunn-2015

The second is the latest in what has become a series of still life paintings with a common theme, this one is titled “Still Life with Tulips” 2015

Still-Life-with-Tulips-2015 Still-Life-with-Tulips-d02 Still-Life-with-Tulips-d01

And here are some of the other drawings from the last few months, thank you to everyone for posing!

Idunn-15 Zehra-02 Roddy-01 Verena-01 Natasha-01 Jenny-02 Jenny-01 Cat-visitor-03 Daniela-05 Racha-01 Verena-02 Jenny-and-Alan-01 Bonnie-01 Female-nude-105 Male-nudes-03 Skype-11 Female-nudes-10 Male-nudes-04

As always, you can see latest work on Twitter (https://twitter.com/SimonTolhurst) and Facebook (https://www.facebook.com/pages/Simon-Tolhurst/16537193567) and I’ll finish this post as I started it, with inconsequential tv news. A long while ago I was one of several artists drawing the subject of a tv reality show who was life modelling for the first time. The resulting show is called “Man Up!” and I’ve never actually seen it, in fact the only person I know who has is one of our security guards at work. He didn’t manage to record the show but he did get me a couple of screen shots from it, so thank you to Brian and to bookend this post here are the photo’s!

ManUp02 ManUp01

About Simon Tolhurst

Artist, London based, working from life. Former Portrait Artist at Residence for Haematology Cancer Care UCLH Charity 2013-23.
This entry was posted in Drawing, Exhibitions, Life Drawings, Painting, Portrait drawings, Portrait Paintings, Still Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Drawing news, Painting news and Newsnight news!

  1. pfelelep says:

    beautiful portraits, the people posing for you did inspire you indeed.
    I love the “quick” pencils the most, maybe as I feel the energy is captured with less details?
    reminds me some intense portraits Freud or de Kooning did.
    thanks a lot for sharing.

Leave a comment